PTSD Themed Collages

Standard

20140105-024738.jpg

20140105-024758.jpg

20140105-024821.jpg

20140105-024843.jpg

20140105-024903.jpg

I know I may have posted some of these before, but I wanted to post a group of specific collages that have a PTSD theme.

These collages depict the thoughts, feelings and images that I relate to my childhood and the severe sexual abuse that I was going through at that time.  I still struggle, on a daily basis, to remember that I am good.  He did not break me, ruin me or cause me to become evil.  I did nothing to make him hurt me.  I was just a little girl.  I was innocent, but he stole that from me.  I’m working hard in therapy to learn how to deal with all these feelings and memories that I repressed and kept secret for so long.

Part of finding freedom from my past is getting these long-held secrets out in the open. I want others to know they aren’t alone. The feelings and struggles that we go through, as survivors of abuse, are very normal for what we’ve experienced. Never, NEVER feel bad or ashamed of who you are! Your past does not define you! It may impact your world, but you are not bad because it happened to you!

And you’re never alone…

2 responses »

  1. Thank you for sharing this post. I’ve been having a lot of thoughts lately and need another outlet for putting them out there without emotionally vomiting all over someone else. I never thought of doing a collage but just the idea makes me breathe a little easier.

    • I’m glad that these collages have you some ideas of how to cope. Collaging has been super helpful for me in learning how to get “junk” out of my head. I’d be glad to talk more if you ever need support!

Leave a Reply

