My Busy Brain

Standard

Image

My Busy Brain

Sometimes I feel like my brain is overloaded with thoughts. It’s easy to feel overwhelmed by memories, triggers, flashbacks, emotions and even just every day stuff. I wish there was a PAUSE button for my brain.

This multimedia painting represents those feelings.  It’s kind of hard to see, but there is a clock in the upper right corner that represents the passing of time, the feeling of wasting time & wasting my life away.  Of course the woman at the bottom represents me, but the top of my head is missing, letting all my thoughts spill out as represented by the clock gears, nuts, springs, wire & twine.

It’s good to let thoughts out of our heads, even if they are thoughts that we consider bad.  Getting those thoughts out can happen in lots of different ways.  It doesn’t mean we have to broadcast everything to the world.  We can write letters, journal entries, poetry, songs, we can talk to a trusted friend or therapist, we can make artwork….heck, we can even just scribble on some paper.  In my experience, every time I get something out of my head and out into the open, those negative thoughts & emotions have so much less power in my mind.  Sometimes I have to keep letting the same stuff out, over and over, but that’s ok.  It’s all part of the healing process.  Everyone of us has a different process and what works for me might not work for you.  Sometimes you have to just open yourself up to trying new things though because you never know what might help or not.  But it can’t hurt to try….right?

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Masks of DID and Child Abuse | Trauma and Dissociation

    • Thanks for linking me to your blog! I have a lot of issues with dissociation (but not DID), due to my childhood sexual abuse. I think that making people more aware of the various forms of dissociation & DID along with he affects of trauma and abuse is absolutely necessary! If you haven’t checked it out already, look at my post called “Just Float Away”. It really depicts how my dissociation works, although for people who struggle with past abuse issues or PTSD, it could be triggering.

Leave a Reply

