Just Float Away **TRIGGER WARNING**

Standard

20131007-102326.jpg
I couldn’t get away from him. I was just a little kid. He was a grown man, so much larger and stronger than me. He held me down, pinned me to the ground. Sometimes he tied me down. The things he would do to me could easily be considered as torture. I know that no sexual abuse can be considered “run of the mill” but this stuff wasn’t just touching my private places. It involved full force rape. A grown man raping a 5-year-old. He would penetrate me with other things too; sticks, toys, pencils, silverware, knives…basically whatever he could find to shove in there. I remember blood. Lots of blood coming out of my body. Lots of physical pain. After he was done, he’d leave me there, usually in the dark. I would curl up in a ball because the physical pain was so intense. I was scared, alone and in pain. I was little. My mind created a great escape plan to protect me. I would dissociate. I would leave my body. When I would leave my body, it felt like I had a special door on the top of my right shoulder that would open and I could float out of. I’d float to the ceiling, in the corner of the room and just watch, that way I didn’t have to feel it.

Our minds do amazing things to protect us in traumatic events. Some minds create alternate personalities to deal with situations. My mind just left. I was freed, leaving just an empty body for him to hurt. At the time of my abuse, this dissociation served me well. It was my safety. But now that I am trying to face my past, sometimes I don’t want to dissociate. I want to stay present with my body and my feelings. My dissociation became such a natural coping mechanism throughout my life that it happened automatically. I didn’t have to do anything or think anything to make myself leave my body. I just did. Now I try to fight to stay in my body. I’ve learned that my friends don’t want relationships with an empty person. I want to be an active participant in my life now. It’s not always pleasant to feel and remember, but it’s part of the process of my healing. It’s part of my journey and I now have the support I need in order to face my past and learn to live as a whole person again.

8 responses »

  1. I think you described it perfectly, the floating, the dissociation, due to abuse. I’ve done my fair share of floating as well.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

      • Thanks. I wanted to say I love your blog! I am really looking forward to finding some time to look and read and feel through what you have posted thus far.

        I do a lot of art and self-directed art therapy type things. I have a lot of resources for art therapy, have a links section about that and also an art therapy links page posted on my Resource Page, the link to that is at the top of my blog pages.

        Good and healing thoughts to you.

        Kate

      • I forgot to add that I also have links on my My Lists Page at the top of my blog that has links to art therapy/creative healing projects that I have found over the years, as well as links on my links section called Healing with Art Therapy and a page link on my Resource page called Art Therapy.

        Kate

Leave a Reply

