More older collages

Standard

ImageImageImage

These are a few more collages that I made in 2007.  Geez, that feels like forever ago.  I hardly even remember what my life was like then because it honestly was pretty chaotic.  I had so much going on with my eating disorder and my self harm, lack of good therapy, being severely over medicated by my psychiatrist…things were pretty crazy.  I used making collages as a safer form of self expression.  When I wanted to cut myself, instead I’d grab a stack of magazines and just cut out words and pictures that jumped out to me.  When I felt like I didn’t have a voice, like I couldn’t speak out my feelings and thoughts, they would come out through my collages.  I think that using collage as a therapeutic art form was truly the beginning of using art as a form of healing.  Within the past few years, I’ve definitely branched out in my artwork.  I’ve learned how to paint, draw, make ceramics, make jewelry, and many other art forms.

Leave a Reply

