A Bunch of Collages

Standard

ImageImageImageImageThese are some of the very first collages I made.  I think I made these in 2007.  It was around that time when I was living alone in a very small apartment.  My bulimia and self harm were ridiculously bad and I was in a very big downward spiral.  I was in and out of psychiatric hospitals on a regular basis.  This is when I first discovered how much art really helps me.  I started collecting magazines and I would spend days pouring over them, cutting out words and pictures.  I don’t even want to know how many glue sticks I went through during this time.  Making collages was such an awesome distraction.  Not only did I really enjoy it, but I could collage about things I was feeling and I didn’t have to take my feelings out on myself through binging and purging and self harm.

 

Leave a Reply

